Collegiate Leadership Academy at MENC’s Music Ed Week

By Andy Zweibel
Republished with permission from Music Ed Major

mew_logo2010MENC has been planning for it’s 2010 Music Education Weekin Washington, D.C. since last year’s event concluded. Music Ed Week is a week of advocacy, networknig, and professional development in the heart of the nation’s capital. I had the opportunity to attend last year, and was extremely pleased with my experience. The professional development portion of the week was done through “academies” in different concentrations (music technology, performance, jazz, research). The specialized academies were a wonderful way to separate the fantastic sessions that were presented.

The preparations for Music Ed Week 2010 (June 24-29, 2010) have begun in earnest over the past few weeks. MENC recently announced that housing and registration for the conference is open, and on Tuesday, they sent information out regarding a new academy for this year’s event, the “Collegiate Leadership Academy.” This academy is geared specifically towards collegiate members of MENC, and has sessions geared specifically towards future music educators. The (tentative) list of sessions includes:

  • “Hero Training: How to Harness Your Super Powers” with Milt Allen, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston
  • “Policy and Practice: What Does this Mean and Why Should I Care?” with Lynn Brinckmeyer, Texas State University, San Marcos
  • “Nine Liberating Habits of Change” with Scott Shuler (president, MENC), Connecticut Department of Education, Hartford
  • “Using Technology to Keep Sane” with Jim Frankel, SoundTree, Melville, NY
  • “Can I Do This for Thirty Years?” with Jack Elgin, Oscar Smith High School, Chesapeake, VA

Additionally, registration for Music Ed Week grants you admission to many other fantastic concerts and advocacy events over the course of the week. The other academies that are being offered this year are:

  • Choral
  • General Music K-12 Technology (keynote by Amy Burns)
  • Instrumental, “IN-Ovations” (Teaching techniques and opportunities for teachers of non-traditional curricula)
  • Jazz
  • Marching Music (registration includes ticket to DCI Show)
  • NACWPI (National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors)
  • New Teachers

Comments

  1. JARED says:

    Topamax@Topamax.Topamax” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buyit now…

  2. MATTHEW says:

    Tetracycline@Tetracycline.Tetracycline” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buyno prescription…

  3. CURTIS says:

    Zoloft

    Buynow it…

  4. CARL says:

    Skelaxin@Skelaxin.Skelaxin” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buyit now…

  5. ADRIAN says:

    Synthroid@Synthroid.Synthroid” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buynow it…

  6. ANDY says:

    Spiriva@Spiriva.Spiriva” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buyno prescription…

  7. ROGER says:

    Purim@Purim.Purim” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buywithout prescription…

  8. JAIME says:

    Cytoxan@Cytoxan.Cytoxan” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  9. KARL says:

    Cymbalta@Cymbalta.Cymbalta” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buyit now…

  10. GREGORY says:

    Provera@Provera.Provera” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buygeneric pills…

  11. JULIO says:

    Cozaar@Cozaar.Cozaar” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buynow it…

  12. WENDELL says:

    Coreg@Coreg.Coreg” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buywithout prescription…

  13. ALLEN says:

    Provera@Provera.Provera” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  14. DOUGLAS says:

    Clonidine@Clonidine.Clonidine” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buyit now…

  15. JEREMY says:

    Claritin@Claritin.Claritin” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buyit now…

  16. DANNY says:

    Prozac@Prozac.Prozac” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buyno prescription…

  17. JOSHUA says:

    Cipro@Cipro.Cipro” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buygeneric meds…

  18. ALBERT says:

    Seroquel@Seroquel.Seroquel” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  19. RONALD says:

    does@pristiq.cause.weight.loss” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buygeneric meds…

  20. RICKY says:

    Buygeneric meds…

  21. SHAUN says:

    cms@coverage.of.pulmicort.respules.j7627” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buygeneric pills…

  22. MIGUEL says:

    ..

    Buygeneric pills…

  23. KENNY says:

    abana@blacksmith.conference” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  24. SHAUN says:

    Buygeneric meds…

  25. DENNIS says:

    dapple@hydrocortisone.cream” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buyit now…

  26. CHRIS says:

    pyrantel@pamoate.to.kill.acanthocephala” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buygeneric drugs…

  27. CLAUDE says:

    ..

    Buygeneric drugs…

  28. DALE says:

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  29. RODNEY says:

    Buygeneric drugs…

  30. DAN says:

    Buygeneric drugs…

  31. JACOB says:

    celexa@and.mda” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buygeneric drugs…

  32. LLOYD says:

    .

    Buynow…

  33. TERRY says:

    claritin@helps.poison.ivy” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  34. KURT says:

    buy@acai.berry.supplement” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buyit now…

  35. NICK says:

    when@will.i.ovulate.after.using.clomid” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buyno prescription…

  36. WAYNE says:

    accutane@and.ototoxicity” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buyno prescription…

  37. MARK says:

    retin@a.cheap.no.prescription” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buygeneric drugs…

  38. EUGENE says:

    dried@neem.leaves” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buywithout prescription…

  39. KEITH says:

    crestor@statin.drugs” rel=”nofollow”>…

    Buyit now…

  40. JIMMIE says:

    .

    Buyit now…

  41. ROBERT says:

    man@plan.a.and.b” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buygeneric drugs…

  42. JARED says:

    can@cymbalta.cause.vaginal.itching.and.irritation” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buydrugs without prescription…

  43. HARVEY says:

    .

    Buygeneric drugs…

  44. CLIFTON says:

    ..

    Buyit now…

  45. MARK says:

    is@dexamethasone.steroid” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buyit now…

  46. ANDREW says:

    advair@side.effects” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buyit now…

  47. JERRY says:

    .

    Buyno prescription…

  48. ELMER says:

    Buygeneric pills…

  49. MARCUS says:

    aloe@vera.juice” rel=”nofollow”>..

    Buynow it…

  50. THOMAS says:

    aloe@vera.gel.benefits” rel=”nofollow”>.

    Buyit now…

Leave a Reply